The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum
The period from birth to the end of Reception is described as The Early
Years Foundation Stage. It is a distinct stage and important in its own right
in preparing children for later schooling.
Play is at the forefront of The Early Years Foundation Stage
curriculum. Through play your child will be encouraged to learn new skills
and practise skills they have already acquired. Play is important for
children's all round physical, emotional, intellectual and social

The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum is divided into 7 areas of
learning and development:

The Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage states that
"All areas of learning and development are important and
interconnected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children's
curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to
learn, form relationships and thrive".

The three prime areas are:
 Communication and Language
 Physical Development
 Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The four specific areas "through which the three prime areas are
strengthened and applied" are:
 Literacy
 Mathematics
 Understanding the World
 Expressive Arts and Design

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and
through creative thinking. It is very important that children develop social
skills, such as turn-taking, sharing and independence, which help them
greatly in the next stages of their learning. During the day the children will
take part in activities covering all aspects of The Early Years Foundation
Stage curriculum, sometimes individually, in small groups or as a whole
class. The curriculum will be taught both indoors and outdoors.